First Date

I work as an Usher at my local theatre. Tonight, there was a performance of “Lighthouse”, a group that has been around since my parents were just barely out of elementary school. 

I speak to the patrons and listen to their stories of their relation to the band and it really intrigued me. Some were their first concert, others were long time fans. Many had seen them before earlier in their life and 20 years later, they wanted to see them again. The one story that really captured my heart was one individual bought these tickets for Christmas for her husband and she told me that her first “Lighthouse” concert was in fact her first date with her future husband. 

My heart warmed up inside. 

I just wanted to share this story. I know I want to experience it and I would like it to happen as soon as possible. 

That’s another thing that came up. A lot of people were speaking about how time flies incredibly quickly, how it felt like yesterday for many of them that they were seeing “Lighthouse” for the first time when they were my age. It’s easy for me to say that I have all the time in the world. Also… I have been hearing this same theme of time flies by too fast and it scares me. I have done a lot of things with my life so far and I know there is still much to do. I just an scared of the time when I am older and I look back – will I be satisfied? I am the kind of person who reminisces on the past. I don’t want to regret anything. 

There is this saying: “Carpe Diem” which is “Seize the Day” (every time I see this or hear it, I think of fish with Carp… hehehe) I dislike that phrase. It puts a lot of pressure on me that every single day should be life changing. I don’t think every single day is gonna be a stand out day: I have accepted that. How I perceive the world is more seize the opportunities. There are so many that are given to us and we may not seize them as much as we should. I want to seize as many opportunities as I can, so I can regret nothing. 

Seize the opportunities. 

Leave a Reply

