2011.

Image

I have to start off this blog with Murphy. I simply adore this dog. 

Ok, back to business. 

One year down. Many more to come. 

Nope, I don’t believe that Mayan Prophecy. I have been reading many articles that have said that this is a mere cycle. Most agree that this prophecy has been contorted and basically, those who came from Europe interpreted their prophecy as “End of the World” rather than a reboot of the cycle. 

Or so I came to understand and will believe for this year. 

ANYWHO, Happy 2012. Just came back from an amazing trip to the Dominican Republic. I will write about that in another, very soon, post. But right now I just wanna talk about 2011. That lovely year we will leave behind and embark to the great year 2012. 

For me, 2011 was extremely interesting. It has huge ups and downs. I accomplished much and hope it continues on in the new year. What I like most about this time of the year is reflection. Looking back on one year and taking into account what has been done. This year is certainly no exception.

Accomplishment one. University. I finished my first year. What the past 12 years has had me preparing for were this one year and the next 4 – 7 years. Honestly… I don’t miss them. With my first year of University under my belt, it just makes me more excited for what is to come. I have gain confidence on so many levels and yet I know I have much more to achieve. Sure, I have no idea what I want to do with my life or where I want my education will take me but… It will come.

Hopefully. 

Accomplishment two. Katimavik. Yes. Even though I lasted just under 2 months, I have to say those were the best two months that I have had in such a long time. This experience was the first time that I was living on my own. I was on my own in a province I have never been to and living with 11 other people that I have never met. Still, I learned a lot about myself. This experience has also inspired me to do much more with my life. Do more travelling, more volunteer experiences, and more skill building opportunities. As well, British Colombia has captured my heart. I will be back there some day, just a matter of when. 

Allons-y!

Accomplishment three. Driving. Yes. I am just under 20 and I just received my G2 – or the license level that allows me to drive on my own. Yes, it took me a while longer than most my age. But yes I did. I did it, I did it, I DID IT. To me, this is what I am most proud of. Again, I love the support my parents have given me, and this includes the rides they have provided for me. Their comes a time in one’s life when riding with your parents to and from places is too similar to the scenes from soccer practice when one was 10. This accomplishment just makes me feel more like an adult. Makes me more independant. It is a large weight off my shoulders

So what’s in store for 2012? For me, its trying to accomplish more of the things while I am still at home. Kinda like a “At Home Bucket List.” For example: Horseback Riding Lessons, Solo Trip to somewhere in Canada, Decent Summer Job (Good Money for School) and so on and so on. 

So 2012, bring it. What’s the worse that can happen… 

 

Leave a Reply

